The Spectacle

The Spectacle 

As I stand in the corner,

I watch the others talking, laughing, and touching each other’s arms

They’re communicating, but I don’t understand them

I can’t even hear them over the ramblings of everyone else

But, I can see them

I can see their lips, their eyebrows, hands, and feet

I’m studying them like I would another species

I’m learning how to react, how to move, how to show I understand,

As I stand in the corner

 

As I stand in the corner,

I don’t feel left out

I don’t feel uncomfortable

I don’t feel like I need to be a part of these social clusters

I continue to watch and learn

I continue to stand still and not be seen

They look from one to the other as they converse in turns

But, I can see them all,

As I stand in the corner

 

As I stand in the corner,

I try to stay still

If I stir, they will notice me

They will wonder why I moved my arm

They will wonder why I changed my stance

They will look at me, and we will see each other

So, I freeze

If I don’t move, nothing will change,

As I stand in the corner

 

As I stand in the corner,

I see their bodies in close proximity to each other

The fluidity between them is captivating

There’s great animation amid the crowd

The voices become white noise, while I stare

I’m trapped by this fascinating scene

I’m on the outside of a colorful silent film

Existing in my own domain,

As I stand in the corner

LeoX2, 2016

20151227_202628

 

One thought on “The Spectacle

Leave a Reply

